Roberto Chiotti's book contribution recently published

Tuesday, February 7, 2017 - 3:00pm

Environmental Design Sessional Instructor Roberto Chiotti has recently contributed with a chapter of the recently published book "A Living, Self-sustaining Spaceship" by Rachel Armstrong, Ed.

His chapter contribution is titled "The dream drives the action: toward a functional cosmology for interstellar travel". It was published by Springer-Praxis Books, Chichester, UK.  

Rachel Armstrong was a keynote speaker for the Urban Ecologies 2015 Conference at OCADU which Roberto Chiotti co-chaired with Bruce Hinds.


Star Ark

Carrianne Leung’s book The Wondrous Woo shortlisted for Toronto Book Award

Cover art for the book "The Wondrous Woo"
Friday, August 22, 2014 - 3:15pm

Writing and Learning Services Coordinator and Sessional Instructor Carrianne Leung’s book, The Wondrous Woo, has been shortlisted among 5 finalists for the 40th edition of the Toronto Book Awards.

The Wondrous Woo tells the story of Miramar Woo who is the quintessential Chinese girl: nice, quiet, and reserved. The eldest of the three Woo children, Miramar is ever the obedient sister and daughter ... on the outside. On the inside, she’s a kick-ass kung fu heroine with rock star flash, sassy attitude, and an insatiable appetite for adventure.

Leung is being recognized alongside impressive company. The other four finalists are:

  • Anthony De Sa for Kicking the Sky, published by Doubleday Canada;
  • Charlotte Gray for The Massey Murder: A Maid, Her Master and the Trial that Shocked a Country, published by HarperCollins Canada;
  • Nick Saul and Andrea Curtis for The Stop: How the Fight for Good Food Transformed a Community and Inspired a Movement, published by Random House Canada; and
  • Shyam Selvadurai for The Hungry Ghosts, published by Doubleday Canada.

In celebration of the 40th anniversary of the awards, each shortlisted book has also been paired with a Toronto champion who will promote the book and provide an introduction at the awards ceremony. Champions include television personality Elaine Lui (The Wondrous Woo), Maureen Jennings of Murdoch Mysteries fame (The Massey Murders), food policy analyst Wayne Roberts (The Stop), filmmaker John Greyson (The Hungry Ghosts), and the Toronto Star’s Chris Hume (Kicking The Sky).

Each finalist receives $1,000, with the winning author receiving a grand prize of $10,000. The winner will be announced on October 16 at the Bram and Bluma Appel Salon at the Toronto Reference Library.